Originally posted on CBS Detroit:

DETROIT (Talk Radio 1270) As city and state officials clash over whether Detroit should have external financial oversight, former Detroit Police Chief Ike McKinnon weighed in on what’s going on behind the scenes to try to save the city from bankruptcy.

McKinnon visited the Charlie Langton morning show to talk about his new role on the Detroit Financial Review Board, a role he was appointed to by Gov. Rick Snyder, though he said he’s an independent un-affiliated as a Republican or Democrat.

“Coming from the background that I had, I had to do a lot of soul-searching,” McKinnon said. “My goal has always been ‘What can I do for the city?’ I still live in Detroit…

“I was shot at eight times, I was stabbed twice, I almost gave my life for this, I was in Vietnam. I fought for my country, I’m going to give whatever I can to this…

View original 404 more words